travel + tea interview: stephanie yoder of twenty-something travel

the travel + tea interviews series: bloggers, writers and photographers sharing about their experiences with tea, travel and writing.

__

Tell me about your blog, how did you get to the point you’re at now and what are you thinking of doing next?

I started my blog (Twenty-something Travel) a little over a year ago as a way to cope while I lived at home and saved up money to travel. It’s grown beyond my wildest expectations and I’m really excited to see where it goes as I start out on my backpacking journey around the world.

Tell me where in the world you are, how did you get there (what’s the story behind the journey) and where are you thinking of going next?

Right now I’m in my mother’s kitchen in DC, but next week I am jetting of to Japan to being a backpacking trip of indefinite length. I’ve been planning and saving for a long tim so I’m really excited to get back on the road!

What does traveling mean to you?

For me travel is about feeling alive and taking advantage of every opportunity to savor the moment. I never feel as much myself as when I am traveling.

What does tea mean to you?

Comfort and alertness. I’m not much of a coffee drinker, so tea is my go to hot beverage. There’s something to comforting about the ritual and the art that goes into brewing and drinking tea.

What’s your philosophy when it comes to blogging on the road?

For me it is really important to maintain my blog while traveling. It gives a certain form and structure to my travels- it makes me feel purposeful. Additionally I always feel that recounting my experiences to others helps me to process the things I’ve seen.

What’s your favorite tea related memory or location (it can be as simple as enjoying a can of green tea from a vending machine in Japan to participating in a tea ceremony) and why is it special to you?

When I used to work in London everyone in my small office used to drink upwards of 10 cups of tea a day! Most of my working day was spent with a mug of tea and a biscuit. It was very warm and communal. I miss that!

What do you drink/steep at home?

I’m such an anglophile; I mainly just drink Tetleys with a little bit of milk and no sugar. Yum.

If there is one tea you could introduce to everyone in the world, what would it be?

Honestly, I don’t have any insider underground teas to recommend. Actually, my boyfriend just introduced me to Argentinean mate tea and it’s quite delicious!

Can you tell me three of your favorite tea or travel blogs?

Some of my favorite travel blogs are The Road Forks, C’est Christine and Candice Does the World because they discuss the more personal side of travel.

Can you tell me your favorite tea shop (and what made it totally awesome)?

I’m really excited to explore some new tea shops in Asia, for the time being I’ve mostly been hitting up World Market. Isn’t that sad?

__

You can find Stephanie at Twenty-something Travel, Facebook and on Twitter.  She also has a great tea related article on her site Train Ride Through Tea Mountains.

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright © 2011 tea&travel. All Rights Reserved.
