travel + tea interview: alexis siemons of teaspoons and petals

teaspons and petalsthe travel + tea interviews series: bloggers, writers and photographers sharing about their experiences with tea, travel and writing.

__

Tell me about your blog, how did you get to the point you’re at now and what are you thinking of doing next?

teaspoons and petalsteaspoons & petals was created in March 2008 when I first discovered the beauty of tea. I can remember steeping my first cup of jasmine pearls and watching the leaves unfurl and release a delicate aroma. From that moment on, I knew that I wanted a space to document my journey and growing love for tea. Over the years, my passion for tea has branched out into many directions: making my own teaware, cooking with tea, pairing fashion and tea. Through writing my blog, I’ve realized that I not only have a connection with tea, but the entire lifestyle associated with it.

I feel so very fortunate to have discovered a way to combine two of my greatest passions, writing and tea. The world of tea has shaped and guided my career as well. I’m writing and consulting for tea companies while also leading/teaching workshops about tea/cooking with tea. My journey with my blog and tea is forever evolving, and I’m excited to continue this fabulous adventure.

teaspoons and petalsTell me where in the world you are, how did you get there (what’s the story behind the journey) and where are you thinking of going next?

I’m currently in my kitchen in Philadelphia steeping a few pitchers of iced tea to sip during the last few moments of summer’s warmth. In the near future, I will be making a few quick trips to NYC (where I always hope to stumble upon a new tea spot to inspire my taste buds). I’m sure that I will be spending some of my time en route to NYC dreaming of traveling to Hawaii to explore the newly grown tea gardens.

What does traveling mean to you?

Traveling means making room for serendipitous possibilities and unexpected adventures. It means that you will allow yourself to roam outside of your familiar space to experience something or someplace truly incredible and beyond your imagination. Traveling means tuning out your world of distractions (work, deadlines, e-mail) so that you can fully embrace the new space and return fresh and inspired.

What does tea mean to you?

Tea is not simply a beverage, but a way of life. Each tealeaf has inspired me to slow down and appreciate the beauty in every leaf and every steeping second. Tea has the ability to transform a moment and place into a peaceful escape where you can breathe and just be. It offers you the luxury of a solitary moment with a single cup, or the opportunity to create a connection amongst friends over a shared pot.

What’s your philosophy when it comes to blogging on the road?

When I travel, I always try to use it as a time to disconnect from technology and move my sight from the screen to the world around me. But that doesn’t mean my mind doesn’t find its way back to the world of blogging. In fact, I always carry a notebook with me to jot down inspirations for blog ideas, quotes, or teas that I anxiously can’t wait to share on teaspoons & petals (and in a pinch, I’ve collected several napkins with scribbles of posts that I would later transfer to the blog).

What’s your favorite tea related memory or location (it can be as simple as enjoying a can of green tea from a vending machine in Japan to participating in a tea ceremony) and why is it special to you?

Even though I have had countless magical moments steeping and sipping tea, my favorite
tea related memory was when my mother and aunts gave me one of my great-grandmother’s teacups. Although it’s incredibly beautiful (elegant rose buds and a dainty handle), what I love most about the teacup is that is has created a connection. I imagine her serving tea to friends and family and delicately embracing the same handle that I hold when sipping tea.

What do you drink/steep at home?

If you take a peek at my tweets you’ll notice that I drink a wide variety of teas. During the summer months I lean towards iced earl greys (with lavender simple syrup to add a touch of sweet) and bright, refreshing greens. As fall begins to settle, I’ve already started gathering a few varieties of chai (white, traditional black, coconut blend) and smoky oolongs to warm my body and soul.

If there is one tea you could introduce to everyone in the world, what would it be?

A fresh tin of Gyokuro. This delicate Japanese green tea achieves the perfect balance of sweet, smoky and earthy. The clean taste instantly sends me to bright, sweet spring mornings.

Can you tell me your favorite tea shop (and what made it totally awesome)?

radiance tea house, teaspoons and petalsWhen I’m treating myself to tea in Philadelphia, I can be found at Tbar. Beyond their menu of incredible teas, their counter is a museum to variety of beautiful blends. Many of their loose teas are displayed underneath the glass countertop. I remember that when I started to explore the lovely leaf, the display was a perfect visual guide to the world of tea. I recommend trying their white chai loose tea or honeybee black tea latte (perfect sweet treat on a cold evening).

If I’ve made my way into NYC, I try to make time to visit Radiance Tea House & Books. The fabulous manager, Dan, always sends my taste buds on flavorful adventure with his incredible tea recommendations. I love their lengthy list of oolong and their incredible array of wellness teas (the Ginger Milk tea practically cured my cold).

__

Alexis can be found at Teaspoons and Petals, on Twitter and you can find her pretty haiku teaware (which has also been featured in the always delicious Daily Candy!) in her Etsy shop.

Comments
4 Responses to “travel + tea interview: alexis siemons of teaspoons and petals”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] is a bit of a tea hub, with the wonderful Teaspoons and Petals blog also being based out of this wonderful city.  The first interview in this series, with Gabriel […]

  2. […] is a bit of a tea hub, with the wonderful Teaspoons and Petals blog also being based out of this wonderful city.  The first interview in this series, with Gabriel […]

  3. […] [** this is also one of the favorite tea shops of Alexis from Teaspoons and Petals, she talks about this neat little place in her interview also**deb] […]

  4. […] I’ve had the chance to talk to some really interesting, knowledgeable and friendly people and I’m so very grateful for that. I’ve connected with people whose blogs I’ve read for a long time, such as Karol Gajda from Ridiculously Extraordinary and Alexis Siemons from Teaspoons and Petals […]



Leave a Reply

  • Copyright © 2011 tea&travel. All Rights Reserved.
