travel + tea interview: jordan williams of tyros of tea

the travel + tea interviews series: bloggers, writers and photographers sharing about their experiences with tea, travel and writing.

__

Tell me about your blog, how did you get to the point you’re at now and what are you thinking of doing next?

I run a little project called Tyros of Tea, a blog dedicated to all things tea with a friend of mine Wes Murdock (editor). “Tyros” started as a result of casual hang outs at a local tea shop. This ignited a passion for all things tea. So much, that when the idea for a blog came up nonchalantly one day. I knew it would be evident the more I met with friends for our tea-centric kick backs.

tyros of teaFuture plans is to keep pumping out post for Tyros, make friends with other tea bloggers and do a collaboration e-book for people just coming to tea.

Tell me where in the world you are, how did you get there (what’s the story behind the journey) and where are you thinking of going next?

I am originally from California’s Bay Area, but currently I am located in Fresno California. I plan on spending the next two years coming this January in Dayton Ohio finishing up my nursing degree, and then work, travel, and drink lots more tea.

What does traveling mean to you?

Traveling means a lot to me, and I have been blessed to see India and Hong Kong so far. After school I hope to visit many other Asian countries.

What does tea mean to you?

Well tea is sort of a chill time for me. Today’s living is fast paced, sometimes you need those moments to just relax, and tea does that for you. When making tea is cause you to take time out of your day heat up some water, and then steep it for however long the tea takes to steep.

What’s your philosophy when it comes to blogging on the road?

I currently don’t have a philosophy for it but hope to have one when I start traveling more.

tyros of tea

What’s your favorite tea related memory or location (it can be as simple as enjoying a can of green tea from a vending machine in Japan to participating in a tea ceremony) and why is it special to you?

The place was Roorkee India, I was invited by a man named Mukesh for tea. Not wanting to be rude to Mukesh I came over to his house where I had my first cup of loose leaf tea that was Masala Chai and Lemongrass Black tea.

Now the reason why this moment is my favorite tea related memory is because it was my first tea related memory. The hospitality of this man was amazing. No matter what time he always offered tea to me and my friends, we ended up having tea everyday for the rest of the time we were there in Roorkee.

What do you drink/steep at home?

I sip on a variety of stuff at home, but the ones I drink the most are Long Jing (Dragon Well) , an Oolong called Blue People, Milk Oolong, and Pu-erh

houjicha tea

If there is one tea you could introduce to everyone in the world, what would it be?

My favorite Japanese Tea Houjicha, I think it’s a great tea for seasoned tea drinkers and beginners.

Can you tell me three of your favorite tea or travel blogs?

What other than Travel and Tea? Well Tea blogs would have to be Melissa Wrzesniewsky‘s Expanding Leaves, Jackie and Peter’s Leafbox Tea (an awesome forum/blog), and lastly World of Tea run by Tony the founder of Chicago Tea Garden

Can you tell me your favorite tea shop (and what made it totally awesome)?

Vital Tea Leaf hands down and it is all due to one man name Herman. I was in San Francisco for my birthday when my friends and I stumbled into this tea shop. Herman a young guy mid twenties I think, invited us to have a tea tasting. It was here I was introduced to many different teas and the history around these teas. He was very helpful and made the experience really enjoyable.

__

Jordan can be found at Tyros of Tea, on Twitter as @tyrosoftea, Steepster and Facebook.

Comments
One Response to “travel + tea interview: jordan williams of tyros of tea”
  1. Thanks for opportunity to be featured on your blog, I enjoyed the interview.

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright © 2011 tea&travel. All Rights Reserved.
