tea + travel interview: nicole from tea for me please

the travel + tea interviews series: bloggers, writers and photographers sharing about their experiences with tea, travel and writing.

__

Tell me about your blog, how did you get to the point you’re at now and what are you thinking of doing next.

I started my blog about two years ago. I had been a staff reviewer for Teaviews.com for a while and wanted to expand a bit. It started out as just a personal tea log but my blog has given me the opportunity to connect with so many fellow tea drinkers, many of whom I now consider friends.

My next project will be a series of reviews of tea destinations in New York City.

When it comes to reviewing teas what’s your strategy, what have you learned about your own tea tastes that’s surprised you as you’ve gone along this tasting journey.

When it comes to reviews my strategy is to keep things short and sweet. Some people can write these amazing eloquent essays about a single tea but I am not one of them.

One of the things that has surprised me the most is how my tastes have changed. When I first started drinking tea I always sweetened my tea and drank mostly flavored greens and blacks. Now I almost never sweeten my tea and I favor whites and oolongs.

Tell me where in the world you are; what do you love about the place you live.

I’ve lived in Bayonne, NJ my whole life. I love the close proximity to New York City without being in the frenzy of it every day. I’d love to do some traveling or maybe even relocate some day but for right now I’m happy with my little corner of the globe.

What does tea mean to you.

Tea is my bit of serenity in an otherwise crazy stressful day. The ritual of tea is the one thing that never fails to make me feel better, regardless of what else is going on. It’s become a very important part of my life because of that.

What’s your favorite tea related memory or location and why is it special to you.

My favorite tea related memory was making tea in Roosevelt Park in Edison, NJ. There is a natural spring there so I packed up a travel stove, old kettle, some gaiwans and my favorite oolong. It was as if the world stood still for those few moments.

What do you drink at home.

If I’m not reviewing a tea, I definitely tend to gravitate towards oolongs. My long time favorite is the Huang Zhi Xiang from Seven Cups.

Can you tell me three of your favorite tea or travel blogs.

There are so many great tea blogs out there that it is hard to choose just three.

  • Alex Zorach’s Tea Blog is informative and often thought-provoking.
  • Expanding Leaves is another favorite, I love her video reviews.
  • Tyro’s of Tea is a fairly new blog but has quickly become of one of my most visited. His weekly recaps make sure that I don’t miss anything important..

Can you tell me your favorite tea shop (and what made it totally wonderful).

My favorite tea shop is Radiance Tea House and Books in New York City. The staff is amazing and they have a such a serene atmosphere. I have a hard time leaving whenever I visit. Their tea tastings are definitely a must see.

[** this is also one of the favorite tea shops of Alexis from Teaspoons and Petals, she talks about this neat little place in her interview also**deb]

__

Nicole can be found at her website, Tea For Me Please, on Twitter as @TeaForMePlease, and on Flickr where she has some great tea photos (and were I got the great ones in this interview!)

Comments
2 Responses to “tea + travel interview: nicole from tea for me please”
  1. zorach says:

    Thank you for picking my tea blog; that is very flattering! I am glad you appreciate my blog, and I’m glad that it is being perceived as thought-provoking. That is absolutely my intention. Sometimes I wonder if I’m being a bit too forward about voicing my opinions, but I guess, that’s my main purpose (whereas I try to keep RateTea.net more objective).

    By the way, I love your blue-and-white tea set. I have some of the same set at home…I’ve thought of completing it next time I’m in Chinatown. Higher on my list though is to buy a good yixing teapot…I don’t currently own one, which is a bit embarrassing considering how into oolong tea I am!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] right, popcorn. When it comes to tea reviews, I’m of the same school of though as Nicole from Tea For Me Please, I can’t write eloquent essays describing the virtues of one type of […]



Leave a Reply

  • Copyright © 2011 tea&travel. All Rights Reserved.
