tea review: tipu’s instant black chai

Most of the tea I drink is just leaves and water, milky teas are a bit of a treat, a bit like dessert in a glass. For me, matcha lattes and chai fall into this category.  When I opened the my instant black chai sample that Tipu’s sent me, I was immediately hit with the intense scent of cloves, ginger, cardamom, pepper and other chai goodness. The powder itself  looked little like coco powder in color, with a matcha-esque consistency. It doesn’t have any sugar or milk powers (eww!) which I think is wonderful, it’s just black tea and spices in a ground form.

The preparation was super easy:  I heated a mug of soy milk, and then added the chai.  The instructions called for one teaspoon, but given the super intense scent I opted to add only half that and the result was great. It tastes like I think chai should, but is no fuss at all.  All in all, super simple and really delicious; so much so that I need to get my hands on some more so I send it to a chai-less friend living in South America. This is absolutely something I’ll be drinking again.

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright © 2011 tea&travel. All Rights Reserved.
